

#### Wicklow County Council Chomhairle Chontae Chill Mhantáin

## ARKLOW MUNICIPAL DISTRICT

# MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING HELD IN THE MCELHERON CHAMBER ON THE 28th JUNE 2024

<u>Present:</u>	Cllr. Pat Fitzgerald, Leas-Cathaoirleach Cllr. Sylvester Bourke Cllr. Pat Kennedy Cllr. Peir Leonard Cllr. Miriam Murphy Cllr. Warren O'Toole
Officials Present:	Ms. Leonora Earls, District Manager Ms. Alvina Brehony, District Administrator Ms. Avril Hill, District Engineer Mr. Damien Byrne Executive Engineer Ms. Lorraine Hayes ASO Ms. Monika Zawodnia CO
Apologies:	None
<u>Press:</u>	None
Public:	None

Councillor Pat Fitzgerald opened by welcoming all the members to the Annual meeting. All Councillors present thanked former Councillor Tommy Annesley in his absence for his hard work over the years since he was first elected. It was agreed a more formal event to recognise his work would be organised in the future.

Cllr. O'Toole was congratulated on his election and was welcomed to the Chamber and AMD.

#### Item 1: Election of Cathaoirleach

Cllr Kennedy was nominated and elected as Cathaoirleach for the coming year – proposed by Cllr Fitzgerald and seconded by Cllr Bourke.

### Item 2: Election of Leas- Cathaoirleach

Cllr Leonard was nominated and elected as Leas-Cathaoirleach for the coming year – proposed by Cllr Bourke and seconded by Cllr Fitzgerald.

# Item 3: Appointment of Members to the Corporate Policy Group

Cllr. Fitzgerald was appointed as a member to the CPG – Proposed by Cllr. Bourke and seconded by Cllr. O'Toole. The Elected Members await clarification if this role can be shared, Leonora Earls will finalise this at the next AMD Meeting. If this is possible Cllr. Leonard was nominated as a member to CPG – Proposed by Cllr. Kennedy and seconded by Cllr. Fitzgerald.

### Item 4: Appointment of one Member to Disability and Inclusion Steering Committee

Cllr. Murphy was appointed as a member to DISC – Proposed by Cllr. Fitzgerald and seconded by Cllr O'Toole. If a second member can be elected it was deemed Cllr O'Toole would become a member to DISC- Proposed by Cllr. Leonard and seconded by Cllr Fitzgerald.

#### Item 5: Appointment of one Member to he Local Traveller Accomodation Consultative

This item has been deferred until the next Member's meeting.

#### Item 6: Appointment of one Member to the East Coast Regional Drugs Task Force

Cllr. Leonard was appointed as a member to ECRDTF – Proposed by Cllr. Kennedy and seconded by Cllr. Bourke

### Item 7: Appointment of one Member to Wicklow Tourism Alliance

Cllr. O'Toole was appointed as a member to WTA – Proposed by Cllr. Leonard and seconded by Cllr. Kennedy.

### Item 8: Appointment of one Member to Arklow Business Enterprise Centre CLG.

Cllr. Kennedy was appointed as a member to ABEC - Proposed by Cllr. Bourke and seconded by Cllr. Leonard.

#### Item 9 Appointment of one member to Heritage Forum

Cllr. Leonard was appointed as member to Heritage Forum – Proposed by Cllr. Kennedy and seconded by Cllr. Fitzgerald. Cllr. Bourke was also appointed as member to Heritage Forum – Proposed by Cllr. Murphy and seconded by Cllr. Leonard.

# <u>Item 10 To consider the adoption of Arklow Municipal District Standing Orders and the Supplementary Standing Orders (</u> to regulate the proceedings of remote meetings) (to follow)

Proposed by Cllr. Murphy and Seconded by Cllr. Bourke

## Item 11 to agree a Schedule of Ordinary Meetings as per attachment

The schedule was agreed – Proposed by Cllr. Fitzgerald and Seconded by Cllr. Bourke. Meetings to be held on the second Wednesday of each Month at 3.30pm.

It was also agreed to bring one Municipal Meeting a year out around the Municipal District.

Signed:

Cathaoirleach of Arklow Municipal District.

Signed:

Ms. Alvina Brehony, District Administrator, Arklow Municipal District